Electronic Literature Schedule 2020

ALL HOMEWORK (HW) MUST BE DONE BEFORE CLASS. DOWNLOAD PROJECTS IN GOOD TIME TO MAKE SURE YOU CAN!

Student Health COVID-19

Description Exercise

Mon Aug 31 

HW

Wed Sep 2

HW

Mon Sept 7

HW

Wed Sept 9

HW

  • TWINE project – start to move your creative exercise into twine.
  • LOOK at Presentation Weeks Below – SIGN UP for three ranked choices for presentation
  • PLAY Choice/Texas – a twine game (trigger warning)
    • Do description exercise.

Mon Sept 14

  • Choice/Texas discussion: from description to analysis
  • Trouble-shooting twine/ buddy groups

HW

Wed Sept 16

HW

Mon Sept 21

HW

  • FINISH Twine Project
  • POST Twine Project to google drive

Wed Sept 23

  • Twine Projects – peer group critique

HW

  • READ: Jason Edward Lewis et al, “Making kin with the machines.” AI-Human relationships
    • ADD quotation, location, brief comment/question to Google Doc – insert your contribution chronologically.

Mon Sept 28

HW

Wed Sept 30– – Eliza and playing with natural language

HW

  • READ: A Manifesto for Ambient Literature by Tom Abba
    • ADD quotation, location, brief comment/question to Google Doc – insert your contribution chronologically.
    • IDENTIFY your quotation: is it an argument, support for an argument, example etc.

Mon Oct 5 – Locative Media

HW

  • WORK ON Final Project, Elevator Pitch + 1-2 Page Project Proposal + Planning documents DUE ON OCT 14

Wed Oct 7

  • It Must Have Been Dark by Then discussion
  • Individual/Group check-in/ on Final Project, Elevator Pitch + 1-2 Page Project Proposal + Planning documents
  • Panel 2 – planning meeting

HW

Mon Oct 12

HW

  • FINISH Final Project, Elevator Pitch + 1-2 Page Project Proposal + Planning documents
  • POST 1-2 Page Project Proposal

Wed Oct 14

  • Deliver Elevator Pitch descriptions of Project
  • Further Discussion of Project Process and Timeline
  • Individual/Group check-in/ on final project progress
  • Panel 3 – planning meeting

HW

Mon Oct 19

HW

  • Work on Final Project

Wed Oct 21

Panel Presentation 1: Playing with Story, Narrating Games – Jalen, Courtlin, Sioux

HW

  • Third generation electronic literature (1 hr 29 ins) Guest Lecture by Leonardo Flores at the University of Bergen (January 31, 2018)
    • ADD quotation, timestamp, brief comment/question to Google Doc – insert your contribution chronologically.

Mon Oct 26

HW

  • Work on Final Project

Wed Oct 28

Panel Presentation 2: Forest 404 Podcast – Siyi, Shane, Rick, KJ

HW

  • Work on Final Project
  • POST link to final project in progress

Mon Nov 2

  • Peer to peer PLAY TEST first version of PROJECTS

HW

  • Work on Final Project

Wed Nov 4

Panel Presentation 3: Playing with your Mind – Briana, Noah, Jon

HW

  • Work on Final Project
  • Put updated project in FINAL-PROGRESS-NOV4

Mon Nov 9

  • Individual/Group check-in/ on final project progress
  • Work on Final Project
  • Panel 4,5,6 – planning meeting

HW

  • Work on Final Project

Wed Nov 11

Panel Presentation 4: Web series/Social Media – Damahya, Bryant, Ryan T

HW

  • Work on Final Project
  • Put updated version in FINAL-PROGRESS-NOV11 by end of class on Nov16

Mon Nov 16

HW

  • POST The Pleasure of the Coast Description Exercise
  • Work on Final Project

Wed Nov 18

HW

  • Work on Final Project

Mon Nov 23

Panel Presentation 5: ELO winners/honorable mentions – Dani, Alex, Olivia

Wed Nov 25 – THANKSGIVING

HW

  • Work on Final Project
  • Post final project (as applicable)

Mon Nov 30

Panel Presentation 6: Firewatch – Philip, Ryan W, Nick

HW

  • IF YOU ARE SHOWING DEC 2- POST YOUR PROJECT BY 11PM NOV 30
  • ALL: READ/PLAY PROJECTS BEFORE CLASS

Wed Dec 2 CRITIQUES – Courtlin, Bryant, Sioux, Siyi, Alex, Briana

HW

  • IF YOU ARE SHOWING DEC 7- POST YOUR PROJECT BY 11PM DEC 5
  • ALL: READ/PLAY PROJECTS BEFORE CLASS

Mon Dec 7 CRITIQUES – Ryan T, Dani, Nick, Jonathan, Jalen, Rick

HW

  • IF YOU ARE SHOWING DEC 9- POST YOUR PROJECT BY 11PM DEC 7
    ALL: READ/PLAY PROJECTS BEFORE CLASS

Wed Dec 9 CRITIQUES – Olivia, Shane, KJ, Ryan W, Damahya, Noah, Philip

Saturday Dec 17 – Final Project Final Deadline

  • Electronic version – that I can play!
    • html + assets files for twine
    • mac executable for renPy
    • web-browser playable version for unity
    • other – talk to me
  • KEEP and/or CONTINUE PROJECT to SHOW NEXT STUDENT SHOW!!!

VARIOUS POSSIBILITIES FOR NOV 18

Top