SMM Schedule 2020

I WILL BE ADDING TO THIS PAGE: CHECK BACK OFTEN

READING/PLAYING SHOULD BE DONE BEFORE CLASS UNLESS THE SCHEDULE INDICATES OTHERWISE. DOWNLOAD APPS IN GOOD TIME TO MAKE SURE YOU CAN!

INTRODUCTION – week 1

Tues Sep 1  – ZOOM

  • Introduction of syllabus and selves

HW

  • LISTEN Communicating Climate Change: a psychoanalysis – Science Weekly Podcast , Jan 19, 2017 The Guardian (~18:55 mins)
  • ADD quotation, timestamp, brief comment/question into Google Doc – insert your contribution chronologically.
  • FILL OUT class information document (google doc invitation)

Thurs Sep 3 – ZOOM

  • Communicating Climate Change discussion
  • Course Overview, theme, expectations
  • Break out Groups: definitions, expectations, desires
  • Logistics: check through class info docs – fill in any missing info

PODCASTS – weeks 2 & 3

HW

2.1 Tues Sep 8 – ZOOM

  • Forest 404 discussion
  • Break out groups: podcast favorites, expectations
  • Podcast project instructions/logistics
  • Break out groups: Script Brainstorming

HW

Thurs Sep 10 – ZOOM

HW

  • LISTEN Oceans of Noise, episode 1 – Guardian Podcast, May 2019
  • ADD quotation, timestamp, brief comment/question into Google Doc – insert your contribution chronologically
  • WORK ON podcast, record/edit/source FX and music – e.g. freesound.org

Tues Sep 15 – ZOOM

  • Oceans of Noise, episode 1 discussion (content and structure)
  • Break Out groups – diagram structure of Oceans of Noise
  • Individual check-in as needed
  • Work on podcast

Thurs Sep 17 – ZOOM

  • Post Podcast
  • Listen and critique podcasts

TWITTER BOTS – weeks 4 & 5

HW

Tues Sep 22

Thurs Sep 24

  • Tracery tutorial, Kate Compton’s JavaScript library
  • “Hello World” Bot using your chosen tools/method
  • HW continue making bot, this includes making profile, header picture and description for the bot’s twitter account

Tues Sep 29

  • Research and Present More bots: Literary Bots from the Electronic Literature Collection, Volume 3
  • Report progress, troubleshoot problems

Thurs Oct 1

  • Finish bot (don’t forget profile background, avatar, bio!)
  • Present bot

MOBILE APPS – weeks

HW:

  1. READ:  “Mobile Game Design and Zombies, Run!” – p 463-465 Game Design Workshop 3rd Edition by Tracy Fullerton. See hand out, but you can also download the entire pdf of the book
  2. DOWNLOAD and PLAY Zombies, Run!
  3. CHOOSE ANY MOBILE APP you use/like/are impressed by – be ready to give short oral report on it

Tues Oct 6

  • Discuss reading and apps
  • Discuss design choices/rationales
  • Brainstorm simple app idea
    • – matching goals to abilities
    • – setting creative/technical challenge
  • Unity 3D – ?
  • HW: write up simple app proposal

UB eco app?

Thurs Oct 8

HW: Apps/Games from Games For Change – you will be assigned one be ready to report your experience with the game

Tues Oct 13

Thurs Oct 15

  • Finish and demo apps and/or app designs

AR APPS Tues Oct 15 – Thurs Oct 24

Tues Oct 20

  • Playing with lens studio

Thurs Oct 22

HOMEWORK

Tues Oct 27– brainstorming in groups -> AR concept

Thur Oct 29 – by end of class your group will have AR prototype or design.

HOMEWORK

  • read Game Design Workshop, Chapter 6 Conceptualization by Tracy Fullerton pdf emailed to you
  • pick a sentence that interests you, be ready to to read it out and say why you think its interesting/important next Tuesday
  • note: although Fullerton is focusing on game design, there are enough general principles here to help us whatever we are designing.

FINAL PROJECT Tues

Tues Nov 3

  • Discuss Fullerton Essay on concept development
  • Go over Final Project Productions steps, deliverables, expectations
  • Find a production group or feedback group

HOMEWORK read Fullerton on Design Doc (pdf set to you)

  • pick a sentence that interests you, be ready to to read it out and say why you think its interesting/important on Thursday
  • note: although Fullerton is focusing on game design, there are enough general principles here to help us whatever we are developing.

Thurs Nov 5

  • Fullerton on Design Documents
  • Start on brainstorm/design doc/production
  • CHECK IN
    • meet with group/feedback group to assess your progress
    • discuss what is going into the first version of your design doc or your podcast timetable

HOMEWORK

  • First step of design doc: at least vision and timetable/weekly goals

Tues Nov 10

  • James Vaughan at Games for Change on Plague
    • watch actively: be ready to summarize something he said interested you, and to make a comment (make note)
  • Pre-production and Production
  • Download Plague for Thursday

Thurs Nov 12

  • Plague
  • Pre-production and Production
  • CHECK IN
    • meet with group/feedback group to assess your progress
    • address any updates to design doc that must be made

Tues Nov 17

Thurs Nov 19

Tues Nov 24

  • CHECK IN
  • Post production and Testing

Thurs Nov 26 thanksgiving

  • Testing

Tues Dec 1  

  • Play Game, write up description using description exercise
    • Alpha Beat Cancer – “children’s game demystifies cancer by teaching the terminology and information needed for informed and productive care” (IOS and Android)
    • BBC Earth: Life in VR – ” takes the users to the Californian coast, and an underwater world bursting with life.” (Android)
    • Climate Defense – “asks the player with preventing global warming by absorbing carbon dioxide (CO2) ” (Android)
    • Dumb Ways to Die – “avoid dangerous situations around trains — and other life-threatening scenarios” (IOS and Android)
  • OR
  • Watch Video Colonized by Data – Nick Couldry
    • Find three points that you are interested in, note time, summarize point the speaker is making, make own coment
  • Media TBA
  • Revisions
  • CHECK IN

Thurs Dec 3

  • Revisions

Tues Dec 8

Thurs Dec 10

  • Final Show/Critiques
  • 11:10 Podcasts
    • Olivia
    • Shawn
    • Richard Li
    • Rick
    • Fred
    • Shane
  • ~11:40 Presentations
    • Gavin
    • Sarra?
  • ~11:50 Games, apps and bots
    • Derek
    • Jama
    • Jasmine
    • Tom
    • Carlito
    • Sarra
    • Nickson and Jessica
Top