SMM Schedule 2019

I WILL BE ADDING TO THIS PAGE: CHECK BACK OFTEN

READING/PLAYING SHOULD BE DONE BEFORE CLASS UNLESS THE SCHEDULE INDICATES OTHERWISE. DOWNLOAD APPS IN GOOD TIME TO MAKE SURE YOU CAN!

Tues Aug 27  – introduction of syllabus and selves

Thurs Aug 29 – Overview: Introduction of interests and skills

PODCASTS

HW Audacity Tutorial

Tues Sep 3

  • Forest 404 episode 1, lecture 1, soundscape 1
    • while you listen
    • Podcast Discussion
  • Script Concepts

Thurs Sep 5

  • Hand in Script
  • Sound Booth/Field Recording
  • HW – do recording, assemble fx and music – soundsnap.com

Tues Sep 10

  • Oceans of Noise – Guardian Podcast
  • Podcast Discussion
  • Edit project/audacity issues

Thurs Sep 13

  • Finish and Post Project – show and tell if time

TWITTER BOTS

HW

Tues Sep 17

Thurs Sep 17

  • Tracery tutorial, Kate Compton’s JavaScript library
  • “Hello World” Bot using your chosen tools/method
  • HW continue making bot, this includes making profile, header picture and description for the bot’s twitter account

Tues Sep 24

  • Research and Present More bots: Literary Bots from the Electronic Literature Collection, Volume 3
  • Report progress, troubleshoot problems

Thurs Sep 26

  • Finish bot (don’t forget profile background, avatar, bio!)
  • Present bot

MOBILE APPS

HW:

  1. READ:  “Mobile Game Design and Zombies, Run!” – p 463-465 Game Design Workshop 3rd Edition by Tracy Fullerton. See hand out, but you can also download the entire pdf of the book
  2. DOWNLOAD and PLAY Zombies, Run!
  3. CHOOSE ANY MOBILE APP you use/like/are impressed by – be ready to give short oral report on it

Tues Oct 1

  • Discuss reading and apps
  • Discuss design choices/rationales
  • Brainstorm simple app idea
    • – matching goals to abilities
    • – setting creative/technical challenge
  • Unity 3D – ?
  • HW: write up simple app proposal

UB eco app?

Thurs Oct 3

HW: Apps/Games from Games For Change – you will be assigned one be ready to report your experience with the game

Tues Oct 8

Thurs Oct 10

  • Finish and demo apps and/or app designs

AR APPS Tues Oct 15 – Thurs Oct 24

Tues Oct 15

  • Playing with lens studio

Thurs Oct 17

HOMEWORK

Tues Oct 22– brainstorming in groups -> AR concept

Thur Oct 22 – by end of class your group will have AR prototype or design.

HOMEWORK

  • read Game Design Workshop, Chapter 6 Conceptualization by Tracy Fullerton pdf emailed to you
  • pick a sentence that interests you, be ready to to read it out and say why you think its interesting/important next Tuesday
  • note: although Fullerton is focusing on game design, there are enough general principles here to help us whatever we are designing.

FINAL PROJECT Tues Oct 29 – Dec 5

Tues Oct 29

  • Discuss Fullerton Essay on concept development
  • Go over Final Project Productions steps, deliverables, expectations
  • Find a production group or feedback group

HOMEWORK read Fullerton on Design Doc (pdf set to you)

  • pick a sentence that interests you, be ready to to read it out and say why you think its interesting/important on Thursday
  • note: although Fullerton is focusing on game design, there are enough general principles here to help us whatever we are developing.

Thurs Oct 31

  • Fullerton on Design Documents
  • Start on brainstorm/design doc/production
  • CHECK IN
    • meet with group/feedback group to assess your progress
    • discuss what is going into the first version of your design doc or your podcast timetable

HOMEWORK

  • First step of design doc: at least vision and timetable/weekly goals

Tues 5 Nov

  • James Vaughan at Games for Change on Plague
    • watch actively: be ready to summarize something he said interested you, and to make a comment (make note)
  • Pre-production and Production
  • Download Plague for Thursday

Thurs 7 Nov

  • Plague
  • Pre-production and Production
  • CHECK IN
    • meet with group/feedback group to assess your progress
    • address any updates to design doc that must be made

HOMEWORK

  • Alpha Beat Cancer – “children’s game demystifies cancer by teaching the terminology and information needed for informed and productive care” (IOS and Android)
  • BBC Earth: Life in VR – ” takes the users to the Californian coast, and an underwater world bursting with life.” (Android)
  • Climate Defense – “asks the player with preventing global warming by absorbing carbon dioxide (CO2) ” (Android)
  • Dumb Ways to Die – “avoid dangerous situations around trains — and other life-threatening scenarios” (IOS and Android)
  • PLUS READ (TBA)

Tues 12 Nov

  • Media TBA
  • Production

Thurs 14 Nov

  • Media TBA
  • Production
  • CHECK IN

Tues 19 Nov

  • Media TBA
  • Post production and Testing

Thurs 21 Nov

  • Testing

Tues Nov 26

  • Media TBA
  • Revisions
  • CHECK IN

Tues Dec 3

  • Revisions

Thurs Dec 5

  • Final Show/Demo

DOWNLOAD It must have been dark by then, by Duncan Speakman

Top