SMM Schedule 2019

I WILL BE ADDING TO THIS PAGE: CHECK BACK OFTEN

READING/PLAYING SHOULD BE DONE BEFORE CLASS UNLESS THE SCHEDULE INDICATES OTHERWISE. DOWNLOAD APPS IN GOOD TIME TO MAKE SURE YOU CAN!

Tues Aug 27  – introduction of syllabus and selves

Thurs Aug 29 – Overview: Introduction of interests and skills

PODCASTS

HW Audacity Tutorial

Tues Sep 3

  • Forest 404 episode 1, lecture 1, soundscape 1
    • while you listen
    • Podcast Discussion
  • Script Concepts

Thurs Sep 5

  • Hand in Script
  • Sound Booth/Field Recording
  • HW – do recording, assemble fx and music – soundsnap.com

Tues Sep 10

  • Oceans of Noise – Guardian Podcast
  • Podcast Discussion
  • Edit project/audacity issues

Thurs Sep 13

  • Finish and Post Project – show and tell if time

TWITTER BOTS

HW

Tues Sep 17

Thurs Sep 17

  • Tracery tutorial, Kate Compton’s JavaScript library
  • “Hello World” Bot using your chosen tools/method
  • HW continue making bot, this includes making profile, header picture and description for the bot’s twitter account

Tues Sep 24

  • Research and Present More bots: Literary Bots from the Electronic Literature Collection, Volume 3
  • Report progress, troubleshoot problems

Thurs Sep 26

  • Finish bot (don’t forget profile background, avatar, bio!)
  • Present bot

MOBILE APPS

Apps/Games from Games For Change

  • Alpha Beat Cancer – “children’s game demystifies cancer by teaching the terminology and information needed for informed and productive care” (IOS and Android)
  • BBC Earth: Life in VR – ” takes the users to the Californian coast, and an underwater world bursting with life.” (Android)
  • Climate Defense – “asks the player with preventing global warming by absorbing carbon dioxide (CO2) ” (Android)
  • Dumb Ways to Die – “avoid dangerous situations around trains — and other life-threatening scenarios”


HW

  • DOWNLOAD and start playing Karen by Blast Theory
  • READ NY Times review of Karen
  • If IOS, download Pry (see below)

Tues Oct 1

  • Pry by Samantha Gorman – IOS
  • Discuss inspirational apps
  • Brainstorm simple app idea
  • UB eco app?

Thurs Oct 3

Tues Oct 8I

  • Karen by Blast Theory – discussion
  • Continue with apps

Thurs Oct 10

  • Finish and demo apps

AR APPS Tues Oct 15 – Thurs Oct 24

FINAL PROJECT Tues Oct 29 – Dec 5

DOWNLOAD It must have been dark by then, by Duncan Speakman

Top