Electronic Literature Schedule 19

READING/PLAYING SHOULD BE DONE BEFORE CLASS UNLESS THE SCHEDULE INDICATES OTHERWISE. DOWNLOAD GAMES IN GOOD TIME TO MAKE SURE YOU CAN!

Mon Aug 26  – introduction of syllabus and selves, interests and skills

Wed Aug 28

  • READ: Hamlet on the Holodeck, Chapter 5, Agency (pdf mailed to you)
  • Look at examples from Library of Congress Electronic Literature and its Emerging Forms Exhibition, 2013
  • Preview works from presentation categories below
  • Content: what kind of ideas, stories, experiences do you want to work with/make? what tools do you employ to generate ideas?
  • Logistics: set up “It Must Have Been Dark by Then” Schedule: Sharon, Gillian, Jonathan

SIGN UP FOR: IT MUST HAVE BEEN DARK BY THEN

Mon Sept 2 – LABOR DAY

Wed Sept 4Overview Lecture : affordances, challenges, tools based on examples on from Wed Aug 29

  • Sign up for Presentations – hand in three ranked choices for presentations

ITHBDBT: Brett, Sarra, Christine

Mon Sept 9 – Origins

READ:

WATCH/PLAY:

Wed Sept 11 – Tools – – basic story structures -room 242

ITHBDBT: James, Jasmine, Ishween

Mon Sept 16 –  How to Present – PLAY TWO PROJECTS BEFORE CLASS

  • J.R. Carpenter The Gathering Cloud
    • Step 1 – Describe the project – literally and metaphorically
      • content/story being told
      • lay out – what changes, what stays the same
      • images/text/icons/numbers
      • interaction/gameplay
    • Step 2 – Analysis
      • purpose of lay out/images/texts/ icons/numbers
      • how this lay-out tells this story
      • how this interaction/gameplay tells this story
      • experience of playing/reading
  • Alan Bigelow The Shoot Out
    • Step 1 – Describe the project – literally and metaphorically
      • content/story being told
      • lay out of project – different “pages” – what is on each one?
      • images/text/icons/sound/design
      • interaction/gameplay
    • Step 2 – Analysis
      • purpose of lay out/images/texts/icons/design
      • how this lay-out serves this purpose
      • how this interaction/gameplay tells this story
      • experience of playing/reading

Wed Sept 18 – Programmatic/procedural  story/poetry

  • Pitch ideas for a group project, if any
  • Workshops on particular tech/OR/work on first project

ITHBDBT: Jianghao, Elijah, Sean M, Jeremy

Mon Sept 23 – Games and Story

  • READ or WATCH
    • VideoGames as Unnatural Narrative by Astrid Ensslin
      https://vimeo.com/132324039
      https://research.bangor.ac.uk/portal/files/7178360/PDB5367-00.pdf
  • Violence Hub – in class exercise

Wed Sept 25– First Project DUE – room 242

  • Show, tell.
  • START Final Project, Elevator Pitch + 1-2 Page Project Proposal + Planning documents DUE ON OCT 9

ITHBDBT: Tom K, Derek, Hansel, Kyle H

Mon Sept 30 – Panel Presentation 1: Playing with Story, Narrating Games

PANEL WILL PRESENT: James Pollard, Jasmine Lindsay, Tom Kang, Sharon Stack

Wed Oct 2 – Eliza and playing with natural language (room 242)

BEFORE CLASS – make a twitter account

ITHBDBT: Josep, Jianhui, Shijia

Mon Oct 7 – Panel Presentation 2: Forest 404 Podcast

PANEL WILL PRESENT: Brett Kolodny, Sarra Souissi, Eli Straus

  • Forest 404 – podcasts: story plus soundscapes plus lectures

Wed Oct 9 – (room 242)

  • Deliver Elevator Pitch descriptions of Project
  • Hand in 1-2 Page proposal
  • Further Discussion of Planning Documents

Mon Oct 14 – Panel Presentation 3: Playing with your Mind

PANEL WILL PRESENT: Hansel Almonte, Derek Chin, Gillian Rose

Wed Oct 16 – Panel Presentation 4: Web series/Social Media

PANEL WILL PRESENT : Ishween Jolly, Christina Soto, Andrew Laspesa

Mon Oct 21– Panel Presentation 5: Electronic Literature Organization Winners/Honorable Mentions

PANEL WILL PRESENT: TBA

Wed Oct 23 – Project Progress Check in

Mon Oct 28 – Panel Presentation 6: (Why) Work without Words

PANEL WILL PRESENT: Jonathan Doroski, Shihia Zheng, Jianhui Yu

Wed Oct 31

*** TEST PLAYING first version of PROJECTS **

Mon Nov 4 – Panel Presentation 7: Firewatch

PANEL WILL PRESENT:Joseph Demartino, Sean Mansfield, Jeremy Lares, Jianghao Wu (Kyle)

Wed Nov 7

Mon Nov 12 – Locative Media

Wed Nov 14

Mon Nov 18 – IN CLASS VIDEO LECTURE

Wed Nov 20 – CRITIQUES 1

Mon Nov 25 – CRITIQUES 2

Mon Dec 2 – CRITIQUES 3

Wed Dec 4 – CRITIQUES 4

Saturday Dec 14 – Final Project Final Deadline

  • Electronic version – that I can play!
    • html + assets files for twine
    • mac executable for renPy
    • web-browser playable version for unity
    • other – talk to me
  • KEEP and/or CONTINUE PROJECT to SHOW NEXT STUDENT SHOW!!!
Top