Electronic Literature Schedule 18

Further All READING/PLAYING SHOULD BE DONE BEFORE CLASS UNLESS THE SCHEDULE INDICATES OTHERWISE. DOWNLOAD GAMES IN GOOD TIME TO MAKE SURE YOU CAN!

Mon Aug 27  – introduction of syllabus and selves, interests and skills

Wed Aug 29

Mon Sept 3 – LABOR DAY

Wed Sept 5Overview Lecture : affordances, challenges, tools based on examples on from Wed Aug 29

Read:

Mon Sept 10 – Origins

READ: Deena Larsen’s Metaphorical Interfaces by Leonardo Flores

Watch/Play:

Wed Sept 12 – Tools – – basic story structures -room 242

Mon Sept 17 –  Images and Text

Wed Sept 19 – Tools  – room 242

  • Pitch ideas for a group project
  • Workshops on particular tech/OR/work on first project

Mon Sept 24 – Panel Presentation 1: Location Based Story: Brian, Sarah

Wed Sept 26– First Project DUE – room 242

  • Show, tell, cry.
  • START Final Project

Mon Oct 1 – Panel Presentation 2: Games (Terry, Kate, Carlito)

  • WHOLE CLASS: READ or WATCH
    • VideoGames as Unnatural Narrative by Astrid Ensslin

      https://research.bangor.ac.uk/portal/files/7178360/PDB5367-00.pdf
  •  PLAY

Wed Oct 3 – Locative Tools – room 242 Brian and Sarah

  • Radio Aporee https://aporee.org/aporee.html
  • Violence Hub – in class exercise

Mon Oct 8 – Panel Presentation 3: Physical Devices and Mobile Media (Lewuga, Lawrence, Sherif, meetings Saturday, September 29 & Saturday, October 6th)

Wed Oct 10 – (room 242)

  • Elevator Pitch descriptions of Project
  • Further Discussion of Planning Documents – working on plan in class

Mon Oct 15 – Panel Presentation 4: Programmatic/Procedural (Andrew, Nicholas, Jeremy, meetings Oct 5th, Oct 12th))

Wed Oct 17 (room 242)

  • Taroko Gorge by Nick Montfort, and variations and how to make your own remix
  • Talking version of Eliza, standard version of Eliza
  • Tensorflow https://www.tensorflow.org/
    An open source machine learning framework for everyone – Java script
  • ML5 neural net. https://github.com/ml5js
    Friendly machine learning for the web
  • Wekinator – http://www.wekinator.org/
    is free, open source software originally created in 2009 by Rebecca Fiebrink. It allows anyone to use machine learning to build new musical instruments, gestural game controllers, computer vision or computer listening systems, and more.

Lecture: Molly Wright Steenson: AI and Stories of Autonomous Landscapes

Mon Oct 22 – Panel Presentation 5: Long Form Works (Carlye, Gabe, Chibeom, meetings Oct 5th, Oct 12th)

Wed Oct 24 – Present Project Planning Docs

  • Peer Groups: Tech Q and As

Mon Oct 29 – Panel Presentation 6: (Why) Work without Words (Wenchao, Emily M, Quynh, meetings Oct 1 and)

Wed Oct 31 – Panel Presentation 7:Playing with your Mind/Body (Emily D, Rachel, Yiheng)

Mon Nov 5 – Machinima & Web Series

Wed Nov 7 (room 242)

  •  TEST PLAYING first version of PROJECTS

Mon Nov 12 – Last Words/Works

  • J.R. Carpenter This is a picture of wind
    • Group 1 – Describe the project – literally and metaphorically
      • content/story being told
      • lay out – what changes, what stays the same
      • images/text/icons/numbers
    • Group 2 – Analysis
      • purpose of lay out/images/texts/ icons/numbers
      • how this lay-out tells this story
      • experience of playing/reading
  • Maria Mencia – The Winnipeg
    • Group 1 – Describe the project – literally and metaphorically
      • content/story being told
      • lay out of project – different pages – what is on each one?
      • lay out of each page
      • images/text/icons/design
    • Group 2 – Analysis
      • purpose of ay out/images/texts/icons/design
      • how this lay-out serves this purpose
      • experience of playing/reading

Wed Nov 14 – Work on Projects & Test Play

  • TEST PLAY Yiheng, Terry, Emily D, Quynh, Carlitos, Brian, Nicholas, Jeremy, Sarah, Lawrence
  • Any tech issues?

Mon Nov 19

Wed Nov 21 – FALL RECESS

Mon Nov 26 – Demos/Reading/Performances and Critiques

Wed Nov 28 – Demos/Reading/Performances and Critiques

Mon Dec 3 – Demos/Reading/Performances and Critiques – possible FIELD TRIP

Wed Dec 7 – Demos/Reading/Performances and Critique – possible FIELD TRIP

 

Top